Expressway board gets fresh faces

By Robbyn Mitchell, Times Staff Writer

Published Friday, August 14, 2009

TAMPA — Two new appointees to the Tampa-Hillsborough County Expressway Authority were announced by the Governor's Office Friday.

Gov. Charlie Crist named Rebecca J. Smith and Curtis L. Stokes to the nine-member citizen board that develops and owns toll roads in Tampa and Hillsborough County.

Smith, 49, is president of the A. D. Morgan Corp. and will succeed Greg Truax, who was appointed to the board by Crist in 2008.

She will become the only female member of the current authority. A.D. Morgan is a construction services company based in Tampa.

Stokes, 40, is vice president of community affairs, government and not-for-profit, with Fifth Third Bank and is succeeding former state Sen. James Hargrett, who served as the board's chairman. Stokes has also headed the Hillsborough County NAACP.

The appointments must be confirmed by the state Senate, but take effect as of Friday. Smith's term will expire July 1, 2011, while Stokes' will run until July 1, 2013.

The Expressway Authority is financed through its toll system.

Back to St Pete Times Page. . .

Back to Home Page. . .